How we started
After graduating with his MBA, Bob Aamodt had already amassed an impressive list of accomplishments, including running a software company and building and selling his first business. He then began teaching investments and portfolio theory at the University of Utah.
While he loved teaching and had a passion for investing, he still felt something was missing. What he really wanted to do was help people use that knowledge to better their lives and live their dreams.
Armed with his unique combination of financial acumen, big-picture view, and a sincere desire to help others, he started out with American Express Financial Advisors in 1998. Bob eventually sought more personal interaction and partnered with a CPA firm in Kaysville for several years before purchasing and refurbishing a historic Farmington rock home in 2007. At that time, he decided to start a completely independent advisory firm, dedicated to providing the intensive financial planning people need to achieve their big goals in life.
This iconic landmark is now home to Rock House Financial—the trusted choice of hundreds of clients across the Intermountain West.
Bob became a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™ professional, recognizing that the CFP® certification was the standard of ethics and expertise in the industry. Read about the CFP® designation
As he has grown Rock House Financial, he looks for team members who have the same standard of ethics and a high level of expertise.
Every advisor is a CFP® professional and each analyst has a background and education in finance. All members of the team have the same commitment: Do what is best for the client.
Our entire team has been incredibly honored to help so many families achieve financial security and pursue their life’s dreams.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you, too.
About the “Rock House”
Rock House Financial is fortunate enough to reside in a unique piece of Farmington history.
The original small rock home at 630 North Main Street in Farmington, Utah is one of many stone structures that helps set Farmington apart as a city with a distinguishing architectural heritage.
The home was built in 1880 by Walter Grover as a gift for his mother, Elizabeth Walker Grove. Elizabeth was a handcart pioneer with the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, who emigrated from England to Utah in 1856. Walter, Elizabeth’s eldest child, was just 19 years old when he started and finished the construction of the small two-room house. Building the home finally gave his mother—the sixth plural wife of Thomas Grover—a permanent residence for her and her four children.
Walter received consent from his father, Thomas Grover, to build the home on the east end of the family farm. The farm was located on a plot of ground, which based on the earliest 1875 Davis County records, was first surveyed by Daniel W. Miller, one of Farmington’s early settlers. The title to the land appears to have been sold to Thomas Grover around 1876 by either Thomas White or Daniel Miller.
Walter began building the home by chopping logs in the Farmington canyons and hauling them to a Farmington sawmill. There they were made into lumber for all the heavy beams and floors. Walter hauled rock from the foothills for the walls, and sand and clay from the shores of the Great Salt Lake west of Centerville, using a yoke of oxen. This clay and very fine sand made the mortar to lay the rock.
A stonemason was hired, either by Walter or his father, to lay the rock walls, which were built two-feet thick–a necessary insulating technique used at the time against cold and heat due to the very poor shielding properties of the stone. Walter did all the shingling himself and most of the carpentry. Elizabeth’s remark when Walter presented her with the finished home was, “It seems like heaven!”
Elizabeth Grover lived in the home until all of her children except the youngest were married. After the death of her husband in 1886, she moved to Logan with her youngest son to care for her aging parents, renting the house in her absence. She passed away in 1917.
In 1938 a three-room rock addition was added to the house by Leo and Florence Manning, and in the 1990s an additional foundation laid by Bob Sutton to further expand the footprint of the building to the north by several hundred square feet.
Today the home has been preserved and restored by its current owner and occupant, Bob Aamodt and his financial planning firm, Rock House Financial. To make use of an existing foundation laid in the 1990s, a new rock addition was built on in 2008 that provides office space to the north. The floors, beams, and walls that Walter Grover lovingly constructed for his mother have been fully restored. Replica windows and doors have been installed and the décor and furnishings of the building designed to be true to the home’s pioneer period.
Learn more about the Rock House Financial Historic Rock House.